Dyson
The Hotel School
Johnson

Cornell
SC Johnson College of Business

G. Andrew Karolyi

Deputy Dean and Dean of Academic Affairs Harold Bierman, Jr. Distinguished Professor Professor of Finance and Global Business

174 Statler Hall Ithaca, NY 14853

T. 607.255.2153

F. 607.254.6207 E. gak56@cornell.edu

W. business.cornell.edu

September 3, 2020

Professor Charles van Loan Dean of Faculty Cornell University

Dear Dean van Loan,

As you know, our College was inaugurated on July 1, 2016 following the merger into one college of three schools: Johnson Graduate School of Management (JGSM), Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management (Dyson), and the School of Hotel Administration (SHA). This merger has been associated with significant efforts among our respective faculty to harmonize policies and procedures, including with respect to the use of the Professor of the Practice Title. By way of this letter, I am pleased to present to you a Policy Pertaining to the Professor of the Practice Title, a policy that has the support of the faculty of the Cornell SC Johnson College of Business and for which I, on their behalf, present for favorable consideration by the Faculty Senate. The title of Professor of the Practice is to be used within our College, in a way consistent with the purposes outlined by the Cornell Faculty Senate, to recognize and recruit outstanding faculty who bring unique talents and experiences to our schools with significant experience in industry or equivalent.

By way of background for the University Senate, we should note that <u>Cornell University Faculty Senate</u>
<u>Resolution 30</u> in September 2002 created the enabling legislation for the Clinical Professor title with the understanding that any college interested in using this title must produce a plan that has to be approved by the Faculty Senate before it can be implemented. <u>Resolution 102</u> (April 2014) allowed for the change of nomenclature enabling the use of Professor of Practice title with the same rules that govern the Clinical Professor title. <u>Senate Resolution 89</u> (September 2011) enabled JGSM to use the Clinical Professor title and <u>Senate Resolution 103</u> (February 2015) enabled it to transition from the Clinical Professor to Professor of the Practice title. <u>Senate Resolution 100</u> (October 2013) enabled SHA to use the Clinical Professor title; to 2016, no request was made for a transition to Professor of the Practice title. On behalf of Dyson, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences was enabled by <u>Senate Resolution 111</u> (September 2015) to use the Professor of Practice title.

This legislation was drafted in our elected College Faculty Policy Committee (CFPC) during AY 2019-2020 under the leadership of CFPC Chair Professor Donna Haeger. Professor Haeger presented the legislation for discussion and debate in a (virtual) College Faculty meeting on 9 April 2020. A Qualtrics vote was conducted immediately after the meeting resulting in a vote of 101 in favor, 27 opposed, and 17 in abstention. The electorate includes 151 tenure-track and tenured faculty along with 65 research, teaching or extension faculty.

Thank you for your support and guidance through this process to date. I look forward to learning about next steps from your office and the Faculty Senate. And do not hesitate to reach out to me if any questions arise.

Sincerely yours,

G. Andrew Karolyi

Deputy Dean and Dean of Academic Affairs, SC Johnson College of Business

Cc: Kevin Hallock, Dean, SC Johnson College