Amendment to the ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURES OF THE UNIVERSITY FACULTY (OPUF)

Whereas the Senate received the Governance Committee report in 2007 and called on the Dean of Faculty and University Faculty Committee to "initiate further consideration of the recommendations", and

Whereas the Governance Committee of the Senate recommended that the University Faculty Committee (UFC) be expanded to allow non Senators to be elected to the UFC ("Five members of the UFC shall be current Senate members at the time of their election; four need not be current members of the Senate at the time of their election.") and

Whereas the UFC and the Dean of Faculty agree that the UFC should be expanded to allow non-Senators to be elected to the UFC,

Therefore be it resolved that the Operational Procedures of the University Faculty (OPUF) be amended as follows:

VIII. Committees.

B. Membership

1. The University Faculty Committee shall consist of the Dean and the Secretary, ex officio, and nine members of the Faculty Senate elected at large by the Faculty. Five members of the UFC shall be current Senate members at the time of their election; four need not be current members of the Senate at the time of their election. Elected mMembers elected from the Senate shall serve a complete term on the University Faculty Committee even if their Senate term expires prior to the end of their University Faculty Committee term. No person shall serve more than two complete consecutive terms on the University Faculty Committee. The Dean shall serve as chair of the committee.