Concurrent Assemblies Resolution Expressing Support for the Cornell University Climate Action Plan

Whereas, the Faculty Senate recognizes that Cornell University is a signatory of the American Colleges and Universities Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), which pledges the University to a goal of climate neutrality;

Whereas, the Faculty Senate recognizes that Cornell University is uniquely positioned to demonstrate leadership in addressing global climate change by combining academic, research, and operational efforts along with campus community member participation under a comprehensive action plan for energy efficiency, energy conservation, and renewable energy;

Whereas, the Faculty Senate supports an institutional Climate Action Plan that is visionary; technically, financially, and programmatically feasible; capable of adapting new technological and scientific discoveries; responsive to evolving regulatory environments; and protects the university from risk associated with the potential for energy and fossil fuel scarcity;

Whereas, the Faculty Senate embraces the concept of the Cornell campus as a living laboratory for teaching and research projects confronting the challenge of climate neutrality;

Whereas, the Cornell University Climate Action Plan (CAP) seeks to dramatically reduce emissions of greenhouse gases associated with purchased electricity, on-site fossil fuel combustion, commuting, and university sponsored air travel by:

- 1) Conducting a rigorous review of the need for and scope of new construction, building materials and equipment and optimizing efficiency of space and systems in new construction;
- 2) Reducing future campus energy use and related greenhouse gas emissions through energy standards for new buildings;
- 3) Improving the energy performance of existing buildings by expanding energy conservation through renovations, new technologies, and occupant behavioral changes;
- 4) Replacing high-carbon energy sources with lower or no-carbon fuel and increasing the use of "renewable" energy;
- 5) Enhancing commuter options to reduce use of single-occupancy vehicles, including alternative work strategies to reduce commuter impacts; and
- 6) Promoting less carbon intensive alternatives for University-related travel; and
- 7) Developing a program of specific University-oriented offsets to make up for emissions unable to directly mitigate.

Whereas, on September 10, 2009 the Building& Properties Committee of the Cornell University Board of Trustees adopted the CAP and following that meeting Cornell University submitted the CAP to the ACUPCC in fulfillment of its pledge;

Be it therefore resolved that the Faculty Senate finds that the CAP for the Ithaca Campus is needed to:

- Achieve the goal of climate neutrality by 2050;
- Establish interim targets for goals and actions that will lead to climate neutrality, and mechanisms for tracking progress on goals and actions; and
- Establish a portfolio of proposed actions that will enable progress toward the goal of climate neutrality, will demonstrate fiscal stewardship and will enhance the University's research, academic, and outreach missions and programs.

Be it further resolved that the Faculty Senate commends and supports Cornell University for adopting the Climate Action Plan;

Be it finally resolved that this resolution be sent to Cornell University President David Skorton as well as the co-chairs of the President's Climate Commitment Implementation Committee, Professor Tim Fahey and Vice President for Facilities Services Kyu Whang.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dennis Miller

Representative to Presidents Climate Commitment Implementation Committee, Faculty Senate

Shane Rothermel

Representative to Presidents Climate Commitment Implementation Committee, Student Assembly

Gary Stewart

Representative to Presidents Climate Commitment Implementation Committee, Employee Assembly

Michael Jay Walsh

Representative to Presidents Climate Commitment Implementation Committee, Graduate & Professional Student Assembly

D. T. Nighthawk Evensen President, Graduate & Professional Student Assembly

Rammy Salem President, Student Assembly

Jason Seymour Chair, Employee Assembly

Professor William Fry Dean of Faculty